top of page
  • Writer's pictureErin Norris

Reprieve: May 14, 2022

My central line was removed yesterday with topical anesthetic and without fanfare. I can return now to stomach sleeping, and soon also to showering without first MacGyver-ing some waterproof protection for my chest. (Note to readers embarking on their own transplant journey: sterile gauze and tattoo tape worked wonders.)


As the side effects of chemotherapy abate, I hope to see some recovery from my heightened vertigo, ataxia and left sided weakness: it's not uncommon for existing MS symptoms to worsen with kind of assault on one's body. These next three weeks between stem cell collection and transplant will be about eating well, exploring Cleveland, and enjoying the company of my family when they come up to visit - outdoors only, to keep me safe. It's a time to gain back strength and weight, and to begin to prepare physically and mentally for the intense transplant process to come in June.


I move forward.

150 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page